Help stop the spread of COVID-19 and follow all current directives from your governor and local health officials about wearing face masks and physical distancing.
Fort Smallwood Park is a 90-acre site located where the Patapsco River meets the Chesapeake Bay. Fort Smallwood was part of the sea coast defense built in the late 1880's and was in use from 1890 until 1927.
Today, visitors can enjoy the park's recreational amenities that include a 380-foot fishing pier, children’s playground, historic gun battery and barracks, walking trails, beaches, pond and volleyball courts.
The historic Cedar Pavilion has been renovated and is open to rent for groups up to 100 people.
Open from 5:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
(Note: Many places fill to capacity on busy, nice weather days, especially holiday weekends. Please call ahead or visit the official website to get the most up-to-date information before visiting.)
Daily Vehicle Parking Fee: $6.00, Physically Challenged Daily Vehicle Parking Fee: $5.00
This park has picnic areas, walking trails, public boat ramp, a playground, a historic picnic pavilion (permit only), a historic gun battery and old barracks (Battery Hartshorne), horseshoe pits, volleyball courts, a fishing pier (Bill Burton Fishing Pier) and beaches.
Boat ramp, fishing pier, beach, picnic pavilion for group rental.
Anne Arundel County Department of Recreation and Parks encourages and welcomes dog owners and their dogs in County parks as long as they abide by the laws set forth governing the dog's behavior.
Fort Smallwood was a sea coast defense built in the late 1880's to the early part of the 1900's. The fort was in use from 1890 until 1927.