At the visitor center, our helpful and courteous staff can provide you with information about the park and the surrounding area. The visitor center houses exhibits highlighting the park’s history and offers a 10 minute orientation film, "Legacy of Fort Frederick," upon request. Some of the exhibits include mannequins displaying various figures related to the history of the Fort, as well as a Confederate Civil War Cannon.
8 a.m. to Sunset, April-October, 10 a.m. to Sunset, November-March
(Note: Many places fill to capacity on busy, nice weather days, especially holiday weekends. Please call ahead or visit the official website to get the most up-to-date information before visiting.)
There are no fees associated with Fort Frederick State Park
Hiking, biking, camping, boating and fishing, historical tours, gift shop
The stone fort built in 1756 protected Maryland’s frontier settlers during the French and Indian War. Fort Frederick is unique because of its strong stone wall, large size, and roomy barracks. Fort Frederick also saw service during the American Revolution as a prison for British soldiers. For the next 131 years, the fort and surrounding lands were farmed. During the Civil War, Union troops were often stationed near the fort to guard the C & O Canal. In 1922, the State of Maryland acquired the fort. During the Great Depression of the 1930's, a company of the Civilian Conservation Corps restored the fort and began development of the state park. In 1975, the park reconstructed two soldier’s barracks inside the fort. These barracks are open seven days a week from Memorial Day to Labor Day and on the weekends in the spring and fall. During those times, staff and volunteers dressed in 18th century clothing occupy the fort, demonstrating daily life in the 18th century.